Medication Side-effects

I’ve been struggling with some side effects from the chemo pill I take.  At my ‘6 month’ appointment, I discussed it with my doctor and he switched me from Letrozole to Aromasin.  This was with the hopes that the awful ‘hip’ pain that made me feel like a 90 year old woman would improve or totally go away.  Well, the hip pain did lessen some, but never went away.  There were even more side effects that came though.  I started to also have knee pain in both knees, and also neuropathy from my elbows to my finger tips.  The worst was while I was sleeping … where I’d wake up and both arms, from the elbow down, would be totally numb.  I couldn’t even feel them!  Then, during the day, I’d have tingling and numbness come and go in both of my hands randomly throughout  the day.  Sometimes it would come as I was sitting at my desk at work typing.  Or, it would come on when I was standing talking to a co-worker or manager while I was holding my coffee.  Not fun .. at all.

At my ‘1 year’ appointment with my medical oncologist (the person who has prescribed this medication), I mentioned this and asked about going back on the previous drug … as the side effects were less and if I needed to take ibuprofen for pain everyday on the Aromasin, I’d prefer to do so on the Letrozole where I had less side effects.  Even though very painful, there were less of them.  He was happy to move me back on Letrozole as it was his preferred medicine for my case.

Well, I’ve been back on the Letrozole for about 1 month now, and the hip pain is back like gangbusters!  I have also starting having the occasional migraine headache – which is also a side-effect and not a walk in the park.  Those of you who suffer from migraines can attest to the painfulness and debilitation these bring on.  I am happy to report, however, that I no longer have the neuropathy in my hands/arms and my knee pain is now gone as well.  So … the lesser of the two evils is what I’m experiencing, but still quite painful nonetheless.

It is awful to realize that even though surgery has removed the cancer from you, and radiation has killed any rogue cancer cells that may have been hiding somewhere … you will still endure YEARS of pain from a pill you need to take to keep your system in a state where it’s not ripe for the cancer to come back and grow.

I have my good days and my bad days, but everyday is one filled with pain whenever I get up from a sitting position and start to walk.  I’ve made a “new year’s resolution” to walk more to help some … which will also to help combat the bone density loss that will also occur as a result of taking this medication.

On my bad days, I always try to remind myself that this is nothing in the scheme of things that others with cancer have had to endure.  Also, there is always someone who is worse off than me somewhere in the world … so I really don’t have anything to complain about.  Some days it’s easier than others to accept that, but I press on and continue to try anyway.

14 thoughts on “Medication Side-effects

  1. I’m so sorry, Deb, that you’re going through this. I hope and pray for the pain to go away. Please, God! Love you sweet daughter!

  2. Girl, I love you and pray for you every day for the strength to keep pushing on and the ability to stay focused on the end game when it gets rough. I am so proud of you and keep up the good fight. I love you beautiful girl!

  3. Gosh Debi, I am so sorry to hear you are having so much pain and nothing seems to help. Praying for you and hoping that they think of a better solution to deal with this debilitating pain. Love And miss you my friend.

  4. Debi – you have been on my mind… how nice to hear from you today. I join with others as we pray for relief from the side effects of the theses medications. Your endurance is an inspiration to me. Thank you for always sharing what you’re going through. May God continue to restore you to complete healing.
    Love,
    Jo

  5. I’m so sorry that you’re having so much pain Debi. From having had hip and knee problems in the past I know how painful it can be and how much it affects your daily life, and I’m sure your pain is probably much worse than what I experienced and I feel so bad for you. I’ll be praying that God will take your side affects away and that you can live a cancer free and pain free life. Love you! 😘
    Judy

  6. Debi, I’ve seen you at work and no one would ever know the pain you are feeling. You are such a trooper! My God! You have gone through this experience without complaint and smiling the whole way! I sooooo admire you and I know it is the Grace of God! If you have days that you feel like venting, complaining or just don’t want to be bothered, you have totally earned that right, regardless of what others are/have experienced. Your experience is your own and doesn’t have to be diminished by what others have had to face. You are such an inspiration and I want you to know that I am praying with you and I know that God has you in the palm of his hand! I realize it may sound cliche but I truly believe that. I also believe that when Jesus died for us he died for your pain and suffering and I’m believing you will begin to live and experience a pain free life! Why? All because of the Blood of Jesus!

    • Thank you for such kind words, Chaun! Thank you also for your prayers, and I totally believe that God has me in the palm of His hand. ❤ Love you!!

  7. Praying for your comfort level. Sorry you must endure all this pain God Bless you with more pain free days ahead. Dave

    Sent from my iPhone Dave Wasserstrom

    >

Leave a comment